CRAFTSMANSHIP & MATERIALS

Since 2011, before it was even fashionable, we committed to creating an ethical supply chain. Our shoes, soles and heels are made in Portugal in a family-owned factory that pays a real working wage and respects European labor and safety standards.    

The same is true of our sub-suppliers; our memory foam which keeps you cushioned as you walk comes from Italy and costs more than an entire pair of shoes that are made in China; our Spanish leather supplier has been recognized as a leather Working Group approved trader in recognition of their commitment to sustainability; and our fabrics for the vegan footwear line come from Italy and Portugal. All our leather heels are wrapped in unused leather from French and Italian luxury houses which lets us up-cycle while respecting our stringent quality requirements. Recently we have started using fabrics made from recycled plastics and we will continue to add innovations as they become available. 

The commitment to expert artisans means you don’t have to worry about sweatshop work conditions. It has always been important for me to believe that we are not exploiting people to make something cheap and disposable. Consequently, our shoes and heels are a little more expensive than brands that are less values-driven, but since they are high quality, built to last, elegant and infinitely wearable we hope you will agree that it’s an investment in a product that is better for the planet, for people and for you.

Main-d'oeuvre et matériaux

Depuis 2011, avant même qu’elle ne soit de l’actualité, nous nous sommes engagés à créer une chaîne d’approvisionnement éthique et notre politique peut rivaliser celle d’une très grande marque. Nos souliers, semelles et talons sont fabriqués au Portugal dans une usine familiale qui paie un salaire de travail réel et respecte les normes européennes sur le droit de travail.   

Il en va de même pour nos sous-traitants ; notre mousse à mémoire de forme qui vous tient confortable pendant que vous marchez vient d’Italie ; notre fournisseur de cuir espagnol a été reconnu comme un négociant agréé par le groupe de travail sur le cuir en reconnaissance de son engagement envers la durabilité, et vos tissus pour la  ligne de chaussures végane proviennent d’Italie et du Portugal.  Récemment, nous avons commencé à utiliser des tissus fabriqués à partir de plastiques recyclés et nous continuerons à ajouter des innovations dès qu’elles seront disponibles. 

Notre engagement envers les artisans signifie que vous n’avez pas à vous soucier des conditions de travail dans nos ateliers partenaire. Il a toujours été important pour moi de croire que nous n’exploitons pas les gens pour fabriquer quelque chose de bon marché et jetable. Par conséquent, nos chaussures et nos talons sont un peu plus chers que les marques moins axées sur les valeurs, mais nous espérons que cet investissement dans un produit meilleur pour la planète, pour les gens, et pour vous, est mériter et justifier.